Williams Racing

Share on twitter
Share on facebook

The Williams F1 Team is the 3rd most successful team in the history of Formula 1

Team History

Williams Racing is a British Formula 1 team and constructor, based out of Oxfordshire in the UK. It was founded by former team owner Sir Frank Williams and automotive engineer Sir Patrick Head in 1977.

Williams have worked with many engine manufacturers, most successfully with Renault, winning five of their nine Constructors’ titles with the French company. Along with Ferrari, McLaren, Benetton and Renault, Williams is one of a group of five teams that won every Constructors’ Championship between 1979 and 2008 and every Drivers’ Championship from 1984 to 2008. Since 2014 they have used Mercedes Hybrid engines.

Williams has won 16 FIA Formula One World Championships (nine for constructors, in partnership with Cosworth, Honda and Renault, and seven for drivers, with Alan Jones, Keke Rosberg, Nelson Piquet, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Damon Hill and Jacques Villeneuve). The team has scored 114 victories, 308 podiums and 128 pole positions.

George Russell (63)

Nicholas Latifi (6)

Related Articles