Mercedes-AMG Petronas

Share on twitter
Share on facebook

Mercedes-AMG Petronas have won the constructors title a record 7 times in a row making them the most successful Formula 1 team in recent history

Mercedes-AMG Petronas - 2020 Constructors Champions

Team History

The Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team is based in Brackley, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom. Mercedes-Benz competed in the pre-war European Championship winning three titles and debuted in Formula One in 1954, running a team for two years. The team is also known by their nickname, the “Silver Arrows”.

After winning their first race at the 1954 French Grand Prix, driver Juan Manuel Fangio won another three Grands Prix to win the 1954 Drivers’ Championship and repeated this success in 1955. Despite winning two Drivers’ Championships, Mercedes-Benz withdrew from motor racing in response to the 1955 Le Mans disaster and did not return to Formula One until 1994 as an engine supplier in association with Ilmor, a British independent high-performance autosport engineering company which would later be acquired by Mercedes.

In addition to its factory team, Mercedes currently supplies engines to Racing Point and Williams. The manufacturer has collected more than 180 wins as an engine supplier and is ranked second in Formula One history. Seven Constructors’ and 11 Drivers’ Championships have been won with Mercedes-Benz engines.

Mercedes has become one of the most successful teams in recent Formula One history, having achieved consecutive Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships from 2014 to 2019. In 2014, Mercedes achieved 11 one-two finishes improving on McLaren’s 1988 record of 10. The record was extended the following year with 12 one-two finishes. Mercedes also collected 16 victories in 2014 and 2015 apiece breaking McLaren (1988) and Ferrari’s (2002, 2004) record of 15. In 2016, they extended this record with 19 wins. In 2020 it has continued with its’ driver lineup of Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas. In 2019, they beat the record Michael Schumacher and Ferrari set in 2004 which was 5 consecutive championship doubles, with Mercedes getting 6 in a row. They have since extended their winning streak to 7 consecutive constructors titles.

Lewis Hamilton (44)

Valtteri Bottas (77)

Related Articles